Checkout by Amazon
FORE!day at Disc Nation - Weekly Specials

Prometheus Liquid (1st Run) - Bring Fire stamp

Prometheus Liquid (1st Run) - Bring Fire stamp
 
(11 reviews)  

5 stars
 5 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars
 2 review(s)
2 stars
 1 review(s)
1 stars
 2 review(s)




Customer Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
11 results found
Show results 1 - 11
Curtis Dorman
Oct 15, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a disc that started a little wonky at first when I started using it, but leveled out and has become one of the better discs in my bag. I would say this disc throws like a faster DGA Rogue or Innova Starfire. I am very pleased with its performance on the course and will definitely continue to use it. My numbers for this disc are: 14, 5, 0, 3.

Advantages: Once tamed, this disc is as good as any driver in any bag. This disc has a multitude of uses, but excels mainly on open holes with moderate winds. (Up to 10 MPH)

Disadvantages: The size of the disc is a marked disadvantage only in the fact that it is not the usual size of the majority of the discs found on the market today. The fade can tend to be exaggerated if not released properly (I,e, too early or too late). Otherwise, I do not see any others for this disc.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Daniel
Oct 9, 2013
I have been trying mine out for a while now. I have the bring the fire stamp. I knew if would be real big and was still surprised at how much it dwarfs the other discs in my bag. it doesn't fight head wind, and for an understable disc it really doesn't turn over well. the rim is huge and not everyone can get the grip on it. lots of glide but I out throw this disc with almost anything but my putters.

Advantages: glide. that's it.

Disadvantages: for me it had small distance, and does not shape lines. straight and open shots worked ok but anytime I have obstacles it became hard to work. not my fav.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aaron Cox
Oct 8, 2013
First of all- thanks to DiscNation for holding back on the deliveries after the initial reports of poor quality pre-releases. I was disappointed at the delay but after reading the other reviews I'm glad I had to wait.
I was surprised and skeptical at the large diameter- It's at least 1" larger diameter than my Nuke or Boss! I DO love the awesome double "Bring Fire" stamp. I purchased a 175g (#200 of 250) and just began throwing it this weekend. I didn't know what to expect but the disc held it's lines into headwinds and crosswinds at 12-15MPH, and even did well with a tailwind too. I primarily throw RHFH with an average of 330-360' but the Prometheus Liquid added 50' or more to a few of my drives, and I was only throwing about 75%. I'm looking forward to playing a course with some wide open spaces to see what it can really do.

Advantages: It seems to withstand torque and off-axis releases well, and the glide is unbelievable- presumably due to the larger size. The flexible flight plate really "snaps" out of my fingers without feeling too floppy.

Disadvantages: Large diameter and rim may take some grip adjustment.
I am definitely storing mine between a couple of pieces of cardboard to insure it maintains it's shape since it is so much larger than the others in my bag.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Brian
Oct 3, 2013
Looks good and that's about it. More than useless. Way to heavy. Only use it will serve is eye candy on my wall... Do not buy.

Advantages: Looks

Disadvantages: Everything else
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Michael J Beebe
Oct 3, 2013
I pre-ordered this disk a few months before release and could wait to throw it. Didn't realize it would be my $ I was throwing away. Worst disc I have ever thrown. My 1st run disc does not look like the picture, and its design is of a stranded DNA chain. It has the most awkward super long edge which makes grip almost impossible. It's a pig, and will have to turn it into a coaster, or a door stop, or something.

Advantages: None

Disadvantages: Everything about it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
dmccain
Oct 2, 2013
After reading other comments, I see that the 189 gr disc is the bad one. Flies very unstable & dive bombs to the ground. Salient should make a recall on this disc as it is cr*p.

Advantages: None worst disc you can buy

Disadvantages: You will be leaving it at home. Do not buy the 189 gr disc. Do not know about any of the others!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Scott
Oct 1, 2013
Unfortunately the disc I received from Salient was a first run 188g blue overstable beast that flies like a garbage can lid. The plastic is grippy and on the floppy side for a driver. This disc just doesn't fill any gaps in my bag so it's going to eBay.

Advantages: Grippy durable plastic.

Disadvantages: Too overstable and does not fly as described by Salient.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jason
Sep 28, 2013
I have two different prometheus discs the first one is this bring fire blue it is a 189 and an overstable pig. i cant get it to do anything but bomb to the ground. I hate it and its now hanging on my wall. My second disc is a factory 2nd i got off of ebay more aqua then blue its a 186 and is awesome crazy glide low fade and minimal skip it is in my bag and my go to disc for any hole over 350 now. salient has been preaching consistency from the beginning and is failing bad.

[Editor's note: Salient claims to no longer be producing the "bad" type, only the "more aqua / good" type.]

Advantages: if you get a good one its great.

Disadvantages: if you get a bad one its sh*te.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
dmccain
Sep 25, 2013
Worst disc I have ever thrown. Looks great. Very Large & heavy 190g, but flies nothing like inbound chart advocates. This is a mid range driver that takes a massive dive bomb. I let several other golfers try this and no one had very good results. Worst disc in my bag. So sorry that I purchased this disc.

Advantages: None. Makes a fair putter in high wind because of its weight.

Disadvantages: Too many to list. I am very disappointed in this disc. Has no distance & takes massive dive bomb.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Tripp Hastings
Sep 24, 2013
Just opened mine up today looks amazing. It is definitely has a larger feel to it than regular drivers but we will see how it throws!

Advantages: great plastic feel
great look

Disadvantages: 188 g
larger feel possibly
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (2)
Cody McClure
Sep 24, 2013
Throwing it takes a little getting used to but overall unique and it looks bad ass, it feels great to have a first run on such an epic disc. Thanks DN

Advantages: Oversized, sweet stamp, flies like a kite.

Disadvantages: First run was light blue (uugh) and Salient changed the weight class, idk why and im sure there was a reason but I cant consistently use a driver that's 187 grams
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)


Sign up for Disc Nation News!
Your email:  
Sign Me Up
Frequent Flyer Rewards Points on every dollar! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation!