Home :: Customer Reviews
Checkout by Amazon

Customer Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
184 results found
Show results 151 - 175
Oct 10, 2013
I have the 188g disc and noticed throwing RHBH I wasn't able to get distance out of this disc, so I thought I'd try sidearm and I was amazed. Like the previous review the disc self righted or autocorrected its flight and went straight and true and flew way farther than any sidearm or bh I'd ever thrown, I have repeated this multiple times. Awesome sidearm disc that has a permanent place in my bag.

Advantages: Great sidearm disc

Disadvantages: Too heavy to get up to speed for my bh
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Damon (Disc Nation Co-Founder) about  Prometheus Liquid (1st Run):
Oct 9, 2013
Ok, so I was very interested to try this disc after reading all the "love it" or "hate it" reviews.

I took both a 173g 1st Run Double Helix Stamp and a 188g of the same to the course this weekend. The 173 is definitely staying in my bag, at least until a 160's Prometheus comes to market. The 188g is, in fact, the very overstable monster that others have reported. Salient says that the 188 flies as it should, but that most players should not be throwing a disc that heavy. After throwing both, I agree. Here's the poop on both...

The 173 is different than any other driver I've ever thrown. It's as big as a Condor/Jaguar/Zephyr, but way faster and weighted differently. Right out of my hand, I noticed something different. The disc stood up flat pretty quickly (kind of self-righting?) and caught a lot of air under it. It had a very substantial inertia to it's flight and a long glide. It also held its own against trees, better than most discs. Despite being about 5-8 grams than drivers I normally throw, I might have thrown my longest drive in years, cruising 40' past the basket on an ace-run line.

Now the 188g, that disc was a different story. This disc required a lot more muscle for me to get any reasonable distance, and I never came anywhere close to the distance of the 173g. In fact, on a much shorter par 3 that required a sharp hyzer, I threw it hard and came up 25' short of the basket. According to Prometheus, this disc is designed for mainstream flight for a very hard thrower. I'm not a Gorilla and it was very over-stable, flying 175-225', then taking a hard left down on each throw (I'm RHBH). That said, it could be useful for hard right turns or spike hyzers.

Advantages: Way different than any other driver out there. The lighter weights provided great flight. Might be my longest disc.

Disadvantages: Superclass (large diameter) may not be right for everyone. Heavy weights require a LOT of muscle and turn hard.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Oct 9, 2013
I have been trying mine out for a while now. I have the bring the fire stamp. I knew if would be real big and was still surprised at how much it dwarfs the other discs in my bag. it doesn't fight head wind, and for an understable disc it really doesn't turn over well. the rim is huge and not everyone can get the grip on it. lots of glide but I out throw this disc with almost anything but my putters.

Advantages: glide. that's it.

Disadvantages: for me it had small distance, and does not shape lines. straight and open shots worked ok but anytime I have obstacles it became hard to work. not my fav.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ryan Reyes about  QJLS - (Quantum JLS) Stardust:
Oct 9, 2013
This is my go to driver. For narrow tree paths I grab my quantum. When thrown it will hold it's line and have a very slight fade towards the end. since I throw very straight this is the disc for me.

Advantages: If you can throw straight this is the disc for you

Disadvantages: Slick when palms are sweaty
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ryan Reyes about  Hydra R-Pro:
Oct 9, 2013
Not only does it float in water but it feels amazing in your hand. It has the best grip, meaning it'll hold onto those chains. My favorite putter

Advantages: Floats! Grabs hold of the chains with it's feel good grip

Disadvantages: So grippy might stick on release causing your flight path to not go as planned.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Blake about  Saint Opto Line:
Oct 9, 2013
Bought an OptoAir 150gram. I like it quite a bit. First time out was quite windy, it performed much better than expected, dealing with head , side, and tailwinds of approx 10-15mph with ease.

Advantages: Easy to control, great glide. Seems to "skip" when landing rather than just digging in , which can result in additional distance. If really powered up, has a tendency to slightly power to the right when thrown RHBH with a flat release. Throws well RHFH as well.


Disadvantages: None that I can see. This is first disc I've bought from Latitude 64. The OptoAir plastic seems very durable so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 8, 2013
First of all- thanks to DiscNation for holding back on the deliveries after the initial reports of poor quality pre-releases. I was disappointed at the delay but after reading the other reviews I'm glad I had to wait.
I was surprised and skeptical at the large diameter- It's at least 1" larger diameter than my Nuke or Boss! I DO love the awesome double "Bring Fire" stamp. I purchased a 175g (#200 of 250) and just began throwing it this weekend. I didn't know what to expect but the disc held it's lines into headwinds and crosswinds at 12-15MPH, and even did well with a tailwind too. I primarily throw RHFH with an average of 330-360' but the Prometheus Liquid added 50' or more to a few of my drives, and I was only throwing about 75%. I'm looking forward to playing a course with some wide open spaces to see what it can really do.

Advantages: It seems to withstand torque and off-axis releases well, and the glide is unbelievable- presumably due to the larger size. The flexible flight plate really "snaps" out of my fingers without feeling too floppy.

Disadvantages: Large diameter and rim may take some grip adjustment.
I am definitely storing mine between a couple of pieces of cardboard to insure it maintains it's shape since it is so much larger than the others in my bag.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
dmccain about  Lace X-Link (Medium):
Oct 5, 2013
Best disc I have ever thrown. Love the grip of the material. I use this disc for my drive, mid range and putter. Flies very stable

Advantages: Great grip material. Flies straight.

Disadvantages: Only ordered one of them
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Adam Morrow about  Groove Champion:
Oct 5, 2013
I LOVE THIS DISC! Read lots of reviews saying it's an inconsistent mold. I've throw a few different ones and I think they all threw the same. Its just a hard beast to tame but very rewarding when you do. It compliments an Innova Tern very well cause it'll do thing that the tern can and vise versa.

Advantages: Great annhyzer disc. Pull off awesome s-curves. Will fly forever with enough power behind it.

Disadvantages: Pick your line and annhyzer it with a lot of power. If you miss your line it might just fly off into next week and if you don't put enough angle on your annhyzer its likely to just turn over and fall really quick.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Pat Taylor about  Teebird STAR:
Oct 4, 2013
The T-bird is a great, predictable flying disc. Its great for shots where you have to keep it on a straight path but still need distance and at the end of it's flight, again, a very predictable slight fade. When I need a shot to go a exact distance and spot i grab the T-Bird.

Advantages: Straight. Good vs headwind.

Disadvantages: It says it has great glide but not as much as others with the same rating...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Adam Morrow about  Atlas STAR:
Oct 4, 2013
Alright disc. I've had mine for about 3 weeks. Doesn't really live up to the hype for me. Good for 100-150 foot throws. And it has been a good annhyzer disc for me. I haven't been able to put a lot of power in my throws with it.

Advantages: Good annhyzer disc. Good for 100 foot approaches.

Disadvantages: Doesn't live up to the hype. Can't put a lot of power on it. It feels floppy in your hand.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2013
Looks good and that's about it. More than useless. Way to heavy. Only use it will serve is eye candy on my wall... Do not buy.

Advantages: Looks

Disadvantages: Everything else
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2013
I pre-ordered this disk a few months before release and could wait to throw it. Didn't realize it would be my $ I was throwing away. Worst disc I have ever thrown. My 1st run disc does not look like the picture, and its design is of a stranded DNA chain. It has the most awkward super long edge which makes grip almost impossible. It's a pig, and will have to turn it into a coaster, or a door stop, or something.

Advantages: None

Disadvantages: Everything about it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 2, 2013
After reading other comments, I see that the 189 gr disc is the bad one. Flies very unstable & dive bombs to the ground. Salient should make a recall on this disc as it is cr*p.

Advantages: None worst disc you can buy

Disadvantages: You will be leaving it at home. Do not buy the 189 gr disc. Do not know about any of the others!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
dmccain about  Prometheus Liquid (1st Run):
Oct 2, 2013
Worst disc I have ever thrown. Looks great. Very Large & heavy 188g, but flies nothing like inbound chart advocates. This is a mid range driver that takes a massive dive bomb. I let several other golfers try this and no one had very good results. Worst disc in my bag. So sorry that I purchased this disc.

Advantages: None. Do not buy the 188 gr of this disc. It is junk

Disadvantages: Tired of carrying it in my bag.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
JRic about  Atlas STAR:
Oct 2, 2013
My very first throw with the atlas i hit a 90 foot shot for a birdie. I love how it feels in my hand
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 1, 2013
Unfortunately the disc I received from Salient was a first run 188g blue overstable beast that flies like a garbage can lid. The plastic is grippy and on the floppy side for a driver. This disc just doesn't fill any gaps in my bag so it's going to eBay.

Advantages: Grippy durable plastic.

Disadvantages: Too overstable and does not fly as described by Salient.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Gus about  Arrow Putter:
Sep 29, 2013
I love this disc. It's easy to grip, easy to throw, from both sides, it goes straight, it lands flat and doesn't roll, I have three other putters but I never use them any longer. I also can drive short holes with this disc. If you're having a bad day throwing, you can throw this a few times and get your groove and feel back. Solid.

Advantages: Its heft, grip, and strong flight characteristics. It won't be pushed around on a windy day.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 28, 2013
I have two different prometheus discs the first one is this bring fire blue it is a 189 and an overstable pig. i cant get it to do anything but bomb to the ground. I hate it and its now hanging on my wall. My second disc is a factory 2nd i got off of ebay more aqua then blue its a 186 and is awesome crazy glide low fade and minimal skip it is in my bag and my go to disc for any hole over 350 now. salient has been preaching consistency from the beginning and is failing bad.

[Editor's note: Salient claims to no longer be producing the "bad" type, only the "more aqua / good" type.]

Advantages: if you get a good one its great.

Disadvantages: if you get a bad one its sh*te.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 25, 2013
Had this bag for 1 year, so far, and it's still as good as new. No stitching or zipper trouble. This has been a great bag thus far and I hope to put a lot more miles on it.

Advantages: Durable - Built like a tank.
Hard Side Case for Phone, wallet, etc...
Strap compatibility = great.
Retractable Hook for towel (or anything else that you can hook on a clip) is another pretty awesome feature.

Disadvantages: Little bit pricey, but strongly reflected in quality.

Dividers were hidden in the bottom of the bag and are removable. (Velcro) Don't work as well as intended, but you can always take them out.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
dmccain about  Lace X-Link (Medium):
Sep 25, 2013
This is the BEST disc in my bag. It is a great all around single disc. If I had to have only one disc, this would be the one.

Advantages: Straight flight and distance. Also has great grip material.

Disadvantages: Only disadvantage is I have only one of these. Will add more soon.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 25, 2013
Worst disc I have ever thrown. Looks great. Very Large & heavy 190g, but flies nothing like inbound chart advocates. This is a mid range driver that takes a massive dive bomb. I let several other golfers try this and no one had very good results. Worst disc in my bag. So sorry that I purchased this disc.

Advantages: None. Makes a fair putter in high wind because of its weight.

Disadvantages: Too many to list. I am very disappointed in this disc. Has no distance & takes massive dive bomb.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Taylor K about  Volt Neutron:
Sep 25, 2013
This is my go to control driver! With MVP's gyro technology, I am able to get my 174g volt out to 350ft consistently. When thrown flat it will turn right just a tad and then fade back. Over all it is a very straight flying disc.

Advantages: Flies straight. Extra glide from Gyro technology.

Disadvantages: None!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Sep 24, 2013
Just opened mine up today looks amazing. It is definitely has a larger feel to it than regular drivers but we will see how it throws!

Advantages: great plastic feel
great look

Disadvantages: 188 g
larger feel possibly
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (2)
Sep 24, 2013
Throwing it takes a little getting used to but overall unique and it looks bad ass, it feels great to have a first run on such an epic disc. Thanks DN

Advantages: Oversized, sweet stamp, flies like a kite.

Disadvantages: First run was light blue (uugh) and Salient changed the weight class, idk why and im sure there was a reason but I cant consistently use a driver that's 187 grams
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Sign up for Disc Nation News!
Your email:  
Sign Me Up
Frequent Flyer Rewards Points on every dollar! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation!