Home :: Customer Reviews
Checkout by Amazon

Customer Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
159 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Albert M about  Beast - Blizzard Champion:
Nov 17, 2013
The champion beast has been my favorite driver, but I never wanted to throw it on water hazards so I bought the blizzard plastic beast 130g. At 130g it was very flippy for me brand new.

I did not expect it to be flippy, but I learned to love it. To get some good distance out of the disc you don't have to put much power on it at all. It glides and will easily give you an S curve.

I am now using this disc for turnover shots, and anhyzer shots. If you let it out on a hyzer angle it will flip up straight and then go right, depending on how muh power you put into your throw the more power the more you can expect the disc to go right (I throw right hand back hand, side armers or lefties should expect the opposite)

My disc is 130g so I imagine the heavier the disc, the less flippy the disc will be.

If you are a beginner you will love this disc. My dad (Super Begginer) can easily get an S curve out of this disc. Plus, anything under 140g floats!

I don't really throw rollers, but this would be the disc I would throw if I'm trying to get a roller.

Remember, disc I'm reviewing is a 130g Beast! Heavier beast should be more stable in my opinion

Advantages: Very Begginer friendly at lower weights.

Anything under 140g floats on water

Easy turnover disc

Could throw it a mile with a monster tailwind

Looking to replace a beat up old Beast grab a 130g blizzard plastic beast

Disadvantages: Very understable for advanced players

Definetly not a disc to use on a headwind

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (9) / No (0)
Sep 25, 2013
Had this bag for 1 year, so far, and it's still as good as new. No stitching or zipper trouble. This has been a great bag thus far and I hope to put a lot more miles on it.

Advantages: Durable - Built like a tank.
Hard Side Case for Phone, wallet, etc...
Strap compatibility = great.
Retractable Hook for towel (or anything else that you can hook on a clip) is another pretty awesome feature.

Disadvantages: Little bit pricey, but strongly reflected in quality.

Dividers were hidden in the bottom of the bag and are removable. (Velcro) Don't work as well as intended, but you can always take them out.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Sep 25, 2013
Worst disc I have ever thrown. Looks great. Very Large & heavy 190g, but flies nothing like inbound chart advocates. This is a mid range driver that takes a massive dive bomb. I let several other golfers try this and no one had very good results. Worst disc in my bag. So sorry that I purchased this disc.

Advantages: None. Makes a fair putter in high wind because of its weight.

Disadvantages: Too many to list. I am very disappointed in this disc. Has no distance & takes massive dive bomb.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Damon (Disc Nation Co-Founder) about  Prometheus Liquid (1st Run):
Oct 9, 2013
Ok, so I was very interested to try this disc after reading all the "love it" or "hate it" reviews.

I took both a 173g 1st Run Double Helix Stamp and a 188g of the same to the course this weekend. The 173 is definitely staying in my bag, at least until a 160's Prometheus comes to market. The 188g is, in fact, the very overstable monster that others have reported. Salient says that the 188 flies as it should, but that most players should not be throwing a disc that heavy. After throwing both, I agree. Here's the poop on both...

The 173 is different than any other driver I've ever thrown. It's as big as a Condor/Jaguar/Zephyr, but way faster and weighted differently. Right out of my hand, I noticed something different. The disc stood up flat pretty quickly (kind of self-righting?) and caught a lot of air under it. It had a very substantial inertia to it's flight and a long glide. It also held its own against trees, better than most discs. Despite being about 5-8 grams than drivers I normally throw, I might have thrown my longest drive in years, cruising 40' past the basket on an ace-run line.

Now the 188g, that disc was a different story. This disc required a lot more muscle for me to get any reasonable distance, and I never came anywhere close to the distance of the 173g. In fact, on a much shorter par 3 that required a sharp hyzer, I threw it hard and came up 25' short of the basket. According to Prometheus, this disc is designed for mainstream flight for a very hard thrower. I'm not a Gorilla and it was very over-stable, flying 175-225', then taking a hard left down on each throw (I'm RHBH). That said, it could be useful for hard right turns or spike hyzers.

Advantages: Way different than any other driver out there. The lighter weights provided great flight. Might be my longest disc.

Disadvantages: Superclass (large diameter) may not be right for everyone. Heavy weights require a LOT of muscle and turn hard.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Nov 5, 2013
The Bandit is one of my favorite speed 9 drivers. It flies like a seasoned Innova Valkyrie and the shape fits comfortably in the hand. I can pop it on a hyzer and trust it to flip forward. It is the perfect out of the box driver for shaping any line -- 3 months of seasoning not required with the Bandit.

Advantages: This disc offers great control for technical disc golf lines. It is best used on a wooded course or as a tailwind bomber. It can also rolls for days because of the rounded nose

Disadvantages: A little less stable than I originally expected, and definitely not headwind friendly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Zachary about  Anode Neutron:
Sep 20, 2013
The Anode has a comfortable shape to it, you can't feel any bead, just the classic putter shape. The plastic is grippy and softens up a little in the Texas heat. They fly nice and straight for putts and longer approaches, they can really take some juice. And like all MVP discs if you really put the snap on it, it pushes forward really well.

Advantages: Good grip, very durable, and flies nice and neutral.

Disadvantages: Addictive plastic!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Taylor K about  Volt Neutron:
Sep 25, 2013
This is my go to control driver! With MVP's gyro technology, I am able to get my 174g volt out to 350ft consistently. When thrown flat it will turn right just a tad and then fade back. Over all it is a very straight flying disc.

Advantages: Flies straight. Extra glide from Gyro technology.

Disadvantages: None!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jan 15, 2014
The Gauge is the next great disc to come from Legacy Discs. It has become a do-it-all midrange that I feel confident with on any line. I purchased a 178g White Icon Gauge

Advantages: I use the Gauge mainly on midrange drives and approaches that need to finish flat and straight. The overall balance to the shape of this disc helps it lock in and carry forward on its line. If I can dream up a line, this disc can hit it. Good bye Buzzz....

Disadvantages: It was more end flight stability than I expected, but once you adjust for that the disc will find a place in your bag.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Darrin about  Diamond Opto Line:
Oct 30, 2013
I stumbled across this disc after not having any luck at good distance. I bought an Opto line Diamond and hit the coarse, the first throw was a beautiful S-curve pushing 300+ feet, my best throw ever! , This disc made me fall in love with disc golf. Ive since found a few longer throwing discs' , but the diamond has earned a permanent spot in my bag. If you are new to disc golf , you will love this disc!

Advantages: Awesome Opto line plastic(my favorite)
easy to throw
very forgiving disc
causes an addiction to playing discgolf

Disadvantages: causes an addiction to playing discgolf
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Sep 24, 2013
Just opened mine up today looks amazing. It is definitely has a larger feel to it than regular drivers but we will see how it throws!

Advantages: great plastic feel
great look

Disadvantages: 188 g
larger feel possibly
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (2)
Pat Taylor about  Teebird STAR:
Oct 4, 2013
The T-bird is a great, predictable flying disc. Its great for shots where you have to keep it on a straight path but still need distance and at the end of it's flight, again, a very predictable slight fade. When I need a shot to go a exact distance and spot i grab the T-Bird.

Advantages: Straight. Good vs headwind.

Disadvantages: It says it has great glide but not as much as others with the same rating...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Adam Morrow about  Groove Champion:
Oct 5, 2013
I LOVE THIS DISC! Read lots of reviews saying it's an inconsistent mold. I've throw a few different ones and I think they all threw the same. Its just a hard beast to tame but very rewarding when you do. It compliments an Innova Tern very well cause it'll do thing that the tern can and vise versa.

Advantages: Great annhyzer disc. Pull off awesome s-curves. Will fly forever with enough power behind it.

Disadvantages: Pick your line and annhyzer it with a lot of power. If you miss your line it might just fly off into next week and if you don't put enough angle on your annhyzer its likely to just turn over and fall really quick.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mitchell about  Destroyer - Blizzard Champion:
Oct 29, 2013
I personally like this driver more than the rest of my discs. Flies on the line you put it on with a slight fade as it comes down.

Advantages: Straight Flyer, Consistent, Easy to throw, Lots of distance

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
john forrester about  River Opto Line:
Oct 14, 2013
My Opto River is the most natural feeling disc I have. It is very easy to control and has a very straight finish. It also has great glide so you can get a little more distance out of it than the profile leads you to believe.

Advantages: Great glide and extremely predictable

Disadvantages: none that I can find
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Taylor Fey about  Volt Neutron:
Oct 16, 2013
This is my #1 choice of over stable control driver. I have just started playing, and LOVE this disc. It was an excellent addition to my disc collection.

Advantages: Flies true. I get a ton of distance!

Disadvantages: NONE!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 17, 2013
its way more overstable then I thought it would be. it is just as overstable as shocks are in my opinion. What makes this different for me is the shocks I have owned were all pretty domey while the resistor is very very flat. I have it filling my banshee slot right now

Advantages: Super reliable fade. Holds straight and finishes hard everytime

Disadvantages: I have trouble getting the distance I'd expect from it. but I can't get my banshee or shocks as far so it makes sense.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
kent fothergill about  Fade Gear Crunch Box Disc Golf Bag:
Oct 20, 2013
This is a great bag! I have been using mine for a few months now of almost daily play and it shows very little wear. In addition to discs' it has room for an extra layer, water, flashlight, and the like. It also stays put when I am riding my bicycle to the local course.

Advantages: solid construction
Holds discs well
Impresses the ladies

Disadvantages: Shoulder strap is not comfortable when packing heavy loads - leave the extra beverages in the cooler.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Oct 25, 2013
This disc is a big brother to the DX Roc. A little more overstable and a lot more distance. Great disc - my best midrange.

Advantages: Distance, accuracy and lots of control

Disadvantages: Easy to over shoot the target if you are not familiar with the disc.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 30, 2013
Very nice bag , it has the most comfy strap out of any of the bags i tried. Im a traveling pack-rat so i dig all the space. Its a well thought out bag, dont let the "pro bag" thing scare ya off,its smaller than an average size duffle bag. this is prolly the last big bag i will ever need, it has held up very well over the last season.

Advantages: awesome strap
very well made
holds everything well
quality zippers and insulated compartments

Disadvantages: none so far
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Rod Smith about  TeeBird-Plus Champion:
Oct 30, 2013
The go to in tight conditions where you need to know the line. It is also long for it's rating.

Advantages: Predictable, straight and can be thrown at many speeds with similar results.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Joe Casiglia about  TeeRex STAR:
Nov 6, 2013
This is one of the most underrated discs of all time. I love this disc for hyzers shot that will never turn over

Advantages: amazing hyzer disc

Disadvantages: a one purpose disc for a specific range not very flexible
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Stephanie Benton about  Mamba STARlite:
Nov 13, 2013
I was not getting much distance on my drives when throwing a sidewinder, when someone suggested the mamba for me in a low weight. I needed the speed, and this just flies for me. This was a game-changer for me!

Advantages: Light, reliable in performance.

Disadvantages: I didn't get one sooner!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jaymes about  Aviar DX:
Nov 13, 2013
this is easily one of the best putt and approach discs out there. When thrown at a fairly high speed, it holds a very tight, strait line with a little low-speed fade at the very end. Great for players of any skill level.

Advantages: Very easy to learn. The DX plastic on these discs seem to be softer than other DX discs which makes it easy to grip and really helps grab the chains.

Disadvantages: From my personal experience, (others may vary) I find that a lighter weight tends to fly just the way I like (slow, so it doesn't fly past the basket on approaches) but the the weight greatly affects how the disc flies. I recommend lighter for approaches and heavier for putts
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Rick Saffeels about  Wraith Echo:
Nov 14, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have been playing disc golf for 13 years, and this is the one disc that is a must have in my bag. The wraith is great for multiple shots: my backhand driver, forehand driver, and consistent 'thumber.' This disc has given me more birdies on more courses than any other disc I own!

Advantages: Grip and material are virtually perfect in the Echo mold, and it is great in every weather condition.
Mold is medium and holds the flight pattern for extended time.
Under-stable meant for tail winds and slight head winds for a wind down back hand throw.

Disadvantages: Can flip with too much snap in a head wind.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 14, 2013
The Vulcan Blizzard Champion is my longest drive by far. I have a 145g that will fly forever. I throw RHBH and do not have the strongest arm. Thrown on a slight hyzer, this disc will flip up almost immediately and glide to the right before gently fading out back to center. It will also hold an anhyzer line and fade off to the right given the proper release. It is my go-to driver for long, straight shots or right turns.

Advantages: Distance.

Disadvantages: You have to be careful throwing this thing into a headwind. It is very understable and can be carried far off target.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

Sign up for Disc Nation News!
Your email:  
Sign Me Up
Frequent Flyer Rewards Points on every dollar! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation!