Home :: Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
239 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Albert M about  Beast - Blizzard Champion:
Nov 17, 2013
The champion beast has been my favorite driver, but I never wanted to throw it on water hazards so I bought the blizzard plastic beast 130g. At 130g it was very flippy for me brand new.

I did not expect it to be flippy, but I learned to love it. To get some good distance out of the disc you don't have to put much power on it at all. It glides and will easily give you an S curve.

I am now using this disc for turnover shots, and anhyzer shots. If you let it out on a hyzer angle it will flip up straight and then go right, depending on how muh power you put into your throw the more power the more you can expect the disc to go right (I throw right hand back hand, side armers or lefties should expect the opposite)

My disc is 130g so I imagine the heavier the disc, the less flippy the disc will be.

If you are a beginner you will love this disc. My dad (Super Begginer) can easily get an S curve out of this disc. Plus, anything under 140g floats!

I don't really throw rollers, but this would be the disc I would throw if I'm trying to get a roller.

Remember, disc I'm reviewing is a 130g Beast! Heavier beast should be more stable in my opinion

Advantages: Very Begginer friendly at lower weights.

Anything under 140g floats on water

Easy turnover disc

Could throw it a mile with a monster tailwind

Looking to replace a beat up old Beast grab a 130g blizzard plastic beast

Disadvantages: Very understable for advanced players

Definetly not a disc to use on a headwind

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (10) / No (0)
Sep 25, 2013
Had this bag for 1 year, so far, and it's still as good as new. No stitching or zipper trouble. This has been a great bag thus far and I hope to put a lot more miles on it.

Advantages: Durable - Built like a tank.
Hard Side Case for Phone, wallet, etc...
Strap compatibility = great.
Retractable Hook for towel (or anything else that you can hook on a clip) is another pretty awesome feature.

Disadvantages: Little bit pricey, but strongly reflected in quality.

Dividers were hidden in the bottom of the bag and are removable. (Velcro) Don't work as well as intended, but you can always take them out.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Sep 25, 2013
Worst disc I have ever thrown. Looks great. Very Large & heavy 190g, but flies nothing like inbound chart advocates. This is a mid range driver that takes a massive dive bomb. I let several other golfers try this and no one had very good results. Worst disc in my bag. So sorry that I purchased this disc.

Advantages: None. Makes a fair putter in high wind because of its weight.

Disadvantages: Too many to list. I am very disappointed in this disc. Has no distance & takes massive dive bomb.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Damon (Disc Nation Co-Founder) about  Prometheus Liquid (1st Run):
Oct 9, 2013
Ok, so I was very interested to try this disc after reading all the "love it" or "hate it" reviews.

I took both a 173g 1st Run Double Helix Stamp and a 188g of the same to the course this weekend. The 173 is definitely staying in my bag, at least until a 160's Prometheus comes to market. The 188g is, in fact, the very overstable monster that others have reported. Salient says that the 188 flies as it should, but that most players should not be throwing a disc that heavy. After throwing both, I agree. Here's the poop on both...

The 173 is different than any other driver I've ever thrown. It's as big as a Condor/Jaguar/Zephyr, but way faster and weighted differently. Right out of my hand, I noticed something different. The disc stood up flat pretty quickly (kind of self-righting?) and caught a lot of air under it. It had a very substantial inertia to it's flight and a long glide. It also held its own against trees, better than most discs. Despite being about 5-8 grams than drivers I normally throw, I might have thrown my longest drive in years, cruising 40' past the basket on an ace-run line.

Now the 188g, that disc was a different story. This disc required a lot more muscle for me to get any reasonable distance, and I never came anywhere close to the distance of the 173g. In fact, on a much shorter par 3 that required a sharp hyzer, I threw it hard and came up 25' short of the basket. According to Prometheus, this disc is designed for mainstream flight for a very hard thrower. I'm not a Gorilla and it was very over-stable, flying 175-225', then taking a hard left down on each throw (I'm RHBH). That said, it could be useful for hard right turns or spike hyzers.

Advantages: Way different than any other driver out there. The lighter weights provided great flight. Might be my longest disc.

Disadvantages: Superclass (large diameter) may not be right for everyone. Heavy weights require a LOT of muscle and turn hard.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
kent fothergill about  Fade Gear Crunch Box Disc Golf Bag:
Oct 20, 2013
This is a great bag! I have been using mine for a few months now of almost daily play and it shows very little wear. In addition to discs' it has room for an extra layer, water, flashlight, and the like. It also stays put when I am riding my bicycle to the local course.

Advantages: solid construction
Holds discs well
Impresses the ladies

Disadvantages: Shoulder strap is not comfortable when packing heavy loads - leave the extra beverages in the cooler.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Nov 5, 2013
The Bandit is one of my favorite speed 9 drivers. It flies like a seasoned Innova Valkyrie and the shape fits comfortably in the hand. I can pop it on a hyzer and trust it to flip forward. It is the perfect out of the box driver for shaping any line -- 3 months of seasoning not required with the Bandit.

Advantages: This disc offers great control for technical disc golf lines. It is best used on a wooded course or as a tailwind bomber. It can also rolls for days because of the rounded nose

Disadvantages: A little less stable than I originally expected, and definitely not headwind friendly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
May 27, 2014
Really nice practice target. I would and will buy this target again.

Advantages: Sets up super-fast. directions say 5min. I guess if you added time for looking for a screwdriver you could take five minutes to set it up.

Disadvantages: Looking for a screwdriver, I replaced screws with thumbscrews. needs an inner set of chains.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (1)
Mitchell about  Destroyer - Blizzard Champion:
Oct 29, 2013
I personally like this driver more than the rest of my discs. Flies on the line you put it on with a slight fade as it comes down.

Advantages: Straight Flyer, Consistent, Easy to throw, Lots of distance

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Jsayer about  Inertia Neutron:
Apr 6, 2014
Flew nice and straight on my first throw. Got 300+ with it several times. I don't have a big arm, but the glide on it is very noticeable. Threw into 10-15 mph wind and it held its line very nicely. When I threw a anny, it was able to come out of it. Very controllable for me.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
martin about  Arrow Putter:
Sep 4, 2014
It's the best disc in my bag. I've thrown it for years and it consistantly performs and throws straight. I get a lot of looks and am often asked, "What are you throwing, I never seen a disc like that?" I'm surprised it's not more popular.

Advantages: Straight and reliable
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Zachary about  Anode Neutron:
Sep 20, 2013
The Anode has a comfortable shape to it, you can't feel any bead, just the classic putter shape. The plastic is grippy and softens up a little in the Texas heat. They fly nice and straight for putts and longer approaches, they can really take some juice. And like all MVP discs if you really put the snap on it, it pushes forward really well.

Advantages: Good grip, very durable, and flies nice and neutral.

Disadvantages: Addictive plastic!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Taylor K about  Volt Neutron:
Sep 25, 2013
This is my go to control driver! With MVP's gyro technology, I am able to get my 174g volt out to 350ft consistently. When thrown flat it will turn right just a tad and then fade back. Over all it is a very straight flying disc.

Advantages: Flies straight. Extra glide from Gyro technology.

Disadvantages: None!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Gus about  Arrow Putter:
Sep 29, 2013
I love this disc. It's easy to grip, easy to throw, from both sides, it goes straight, it lands flat and doesn't roll, I have three other putters but I never use them any longer. I also can drive short holes with this disc. If you're having a bad day throwing, you can throw this a few times and get your groove and feel back. Solid.

Advantages: Its heft, grip, and strong flight characteristics. It won't be pushed around on a windy day.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Pat Taylor about  Teebird STAR:
Oct 4, 2013
The T-bird is a great, predictable flying disc. Its great for shots where you have to keep it on a straight path but still need distance and at the end of it's flight, again, a very predictable slight fade. When I need a shot to go a exact distance and spot i grab the T-Bird.

Advantages: Straight. Good vs headwind.

Disadvantages: It says it has great glide but not as much as others with the same rating...
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
john forrester about  River Opto Line:
Oct 14, 2013
My Opto River is the most natural feeling disc I have. It is very easy to control and has a very straight finish. It also has great glide so you can get a little more distance out of it than the profile leads you to believe.

Advantages: Great glide and extremely predictable

Disadvantages: none that I can find
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
ben rutkowski about  Rampage Icon Edition:
Oct 27, 2013
Amazing disc! Not as overstable as the hype suggests, but I think from run to run there are some differences. I carry a pinnacle version as well as the icon rampage in my bag and they are kicking everything else out! Hyzer flips, big sweeping hyzer bombs, plus they get really far away really fast! Crazy distance, control, and speed. Love the rampage!

Advantages: Speed, durability, accuracy, dependability.

Disadvantages: Big rim, harder for the circus folk to grip. once you get the feel though it's not too shabby. not the best head wind disc either. it will flip and not pull out if you juice it into the wind.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Rod Smith about  TeeBird-Plus Champion:
Oct 30, 2013
The go to in tight conditions where you need to know the line. It is also long for it's rating.

Advantages: Predictable, straight and can be thrown at many speeds with similar results.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jaymes about  Aviar DX:
Nov 13, 2013
this is easily one of the best putt and approach discs out there. When thrown at a fairly high speed, it holds a very tight, strait line with a little low-speed fade at the very end. Great for players of any skill level.

Advantages: Very easy to learn. The DX plastic on these discs seem to be softer than other DX discs which makes it easy to grip and really helps grab the chains.

Disadvantages: From my personal experience, (others may vary) I find that a lighter weight tends to fly just the way I like (slow, so it doesn't fly past the basket on approaches) but the the weight greatly affects how the disc flies. I recommend lighter for approaches and heavier for putts
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jason K. about  Fugitive Lucid:
Nov 13, 2013
I have 2 Lucid Fugitives in my bag. One is 171g and the other is 179g. The lighter one has a slight bit more turn and the heavier one has just a touch more fade but both are great discs when you need to thread it through the trees on a tight line to the basket.

Advantages: Pro: Consistent flight from throw to throw.

Disadvantages: Con: Haven't found any.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Nov 14, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
For the price, you can hardly do better than this bag. That being said, I gave mine to my cousin, for a number of reasons. First, she is awesome, and needed a bag to carry her three discs. Secondly, I developed a disc buying addiction and quickly outgrew this bag. You can get 10 discs in this thing easily, and add a putter in the outside pocket, but that isn't sufficient for someone with a problem. Thirdly, "Sage Green" is really like pastel green. Not manly at all, but perfect for your female cousin. My only complaint about this bag is that it doesn't want to stand up when you put it on the ground. It wants to fall over on its face, especially if you have a putter in the pocket. I found that annoying.

Advantages: Cheap, great value.

Disadvantages: Falls over. Sage green is not for men who want to feel manly.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Steve Robinson about  UB Disc Golf Hoodie - Snow:
Nov 16, 2013
Great hoodie! UB Disc Golf came through again with the design for this shirt. The snowy mountain with a basket on top is accented by a subtle "UB" that floats in the sky. Super soft fleece-like interior and a soft, flexible outside makes it comfortable, warm, and easy to throw in! I bought this before it was part of the Fore! Days sale promo and it is well worth the full retail value.

Advantages: Soft, warm, and flexible.
Easy to throw while wearing.
Awesome design and color scheme.

Disadvantages: People who don't know what disc golf is or who don't read the part where it says "Premium Golf Discs & Apparel" may assume it's a skiing hoodie.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Pearse about  Teebird-L Champion:
Nov 16, 2013
Now here's a superior fairway driver. I've been lucky enough to try various fairway drivers from various companies, but, along with my teebird, I always find my way back to the tl. There isn't a wooded fairway tight enough that a tl can't handle. It'll handle any line you put in on, especially dead strait lazerbeams. Plus, since it's a thin rimmed driver, new players can easily learn/lock in with this disc and use it as a first real driver.

Advantages: The disc can handle any line and can be used both by the top pro's and any newcomer effectively. Very user friendly.

Disadvantages: The only one I can conjure is it's line holding ability. It sticks to the line you put it on, so this disc lets you know if your doing something wrong with your throw.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
michael malmberg about  Boss STAR - Bottom Stamp:
Nov 17, 2013
This is one disc I will never leave the house without. This disc has turned into my go to distance driver for sidearm throws and hole going from left to right.

This disc isnt bothered by wind to much and will fade out of nicely at the end of its flight (very minimal glide).

Advantages: minimally effected by the wind, can be thrown forehand and backhand, will dependably fade out right if thrown forehand (RH) and will fade out left if thrown backhand (RH).

Very durable plastic, nice grip when dry and wet. The bottom stamp just looks cool too.

Disadvantages: A very high speed driver so its requires an above average arm. If not thrown with enough arm speed the fade can be extreme.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
mark about  RESPECTi Basic:
Dec 2, 2013
I know it is the basic plastic i bought, but it wore down too fast in my opinion. A few trees and it was totally bent out of shape and I coudn't do a whole lot with it. Maybe Premi plastic is a lot better.

Advantages: price, flies well initially

Disadvantages: beats up really fast for Basic plastic.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Dec 6, 2013
Have had this bag for a year. It does everything a player needs. Plenty of room for discs and and extras. Two 32 oz water bottle pockets really help with rounds here in the Southwest.

Advantages: Nice size compatible with Backpack straps to lighten the load.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)

Sign up for Disc Nation News!
Your email:  
Sign Me Up
Frequent Flyer Rewards Points on every dollar! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation! FREE Shipping at Disc Nation!